Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Which Cisco Certificate Does A Network Engineer Need?

Cisco is the largest Internet equipment manufacturer in the world, and its products account for more than 80% of the market share of high-end Internet equipment. Therefore, obtaining Cisco Certification is equivalent to mastering the most mainstream network technology in the world. In order to meet the needs of the development of the internet for professional engineers, Cisco set up a series of courses for Cisco Certified Internet Engineers in 1993. CCNA and CCDA are primary courses, CCDP are advanced courses and CCIE Certification are the highest level certification.

CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) is the first step in Cisco Professional Certification. The most advanced certification is CCIE (Cisco Certified Internet Expert), which is one of the most respected and difficult certification to obtain in the world. If CCIE is the dream of network practitioners, then CCNA seems to give this dream a pair of strong wings. CCNA has laid a good foundation for you to fly faster to your dream of CCIE. The meaning of CCNA Certification is the lowest level of Technical Support Certification determined by Cisco for all partners of Cisco. Certified CCNA Engineers can install, configure and run Cisco network products with 1-500 network nodes. At present, there are more than 5,000 CCIE in the world. Now prepare for the CCIE Exam may mean a chance to be a leader.

Cisco Professional Certification Family

In order to meet the needs of professional engineers with the rapid development of the Internet, Cisco System Inc established a series of courses for Cisco Certified Internet Engineers in 1993. There are CCNA as the primary certification, as well as CCNP, CCDP, CCNP Specialization, CCDP Specialization as advanced certifications and CCIE as the most advanced certification. The whole set of certifications is mainly devoted to network maintenance and network design.

CCNP Specialization and CCDP Specialization include certificates in six fields, namely: Network Security, Voice Access, Network Management, LAN Asynchronous Transmission Mode, SNA/IP Integration, SNA/IP Network Management. After obtaining the qualification of CCNP or CCDP, one or all courses can be selected for certification according to your own needs and abilities.

CCDA (Cisco Certified Designer Associate) is the first step in Cisco Certification. At the same time, CCNP (Cisco Certified Network Professional), CCDP (Cisco Certified Design Professional), CCNP Specialization and other advanced certification are available. The highest level of certification is Cisco Certified Internet Expert (CCIE).

Cisco Certification Introduction

CCNA Certification

Cisco Router and LAN Switch course teaches you how to best analyze, design and implement installation, configuration and modulation technology of Cisco products for small and medium enterprises.

CCDA Certification

Design of Cisco Network (DCN) course focuses on training the skills needed to design small and medium-sized intercontinental networks with less than 500 nodes.

CCNP Certification and CCDP Certification

CCNP Certification includes the following four courses: Building Scalable Cisco Network (BSCN), Building Cisco Multi-layer Switching Network (BCMSN), Building Cisco Remote Access Network (BCRAN), and Cisco Internet Troubleshooting (CIT).

The first three courses of CCDP Certification are all the same as those of CCNP Certification, and only the fourth course is Cisco Internet Design (CID).

After obtaining the qualification of CCNA or CCDA and passing the above courses, students can strive for CCNP or CCDP Professional Certification.

CCNP Specialization Certification

The course includes six directions of certification: Network Security, Voice Access, Network Management, LAN Asynchronous Transmission Mode, SNA/IP Integration, SNA/IP Network Management. After obtaining CCNP or CCDP Qualification, students can take the following courses: Campus Asynchronous Transfer Mode (CATM), Cisco Enterprise Management Solution (CEMS), System Network Architecture Management(SNAM), Management of Cisco Network Security (MCNS)

CCIE Certification

CCIE Certification includes certificates in four different fields, which can be tested in all or one of them according to your own needs and abilities. These four fields are: Routing and Switching, Wan Switching, ISP Dialing, SNA/IP Integration. Candidates must have professional Internet technology, and must pass strict written and experimental tests to obtain CCIE Certification. The written test focuses on the basic knowledge of network, while the experimental test focuses on the installation ability of Cisco products and other Internet products. The experimental test lasts for two days.

CCIE Certification is the most challenging certification in the IT industry, students need at least 2 years of professional work experience. 

Through CCIE Lab, the experiments, Cisco simulates various real environments in the laboratory, allowing students to configure and debug, so as to test their practical operation ability.

(Visited 137 times, 1 visits today)